Tiny Beers

My friend @wineandswine (Twitter) sent in a picture of her enjoying the tiny, wonderful watermelon wheat. This picture is far superior than what I managed to capture (see below).

When I usually think of Oktoberfest (which is maybe, oh, once a year), I think lederhosen, brats, and giant steins of beer. But what’s better than giant steins of beer? Little, tiny, adorable steins of beer.

Fremont Oktoberfest is this weekend, finishing up today with a rainy cheers. And your entry fee gets you a mini mug and tokens to sample away.

Some people like to commit a full stomach to one beer, but I fully support the tiny tastes. Last night I had a little bit of 21st Amendment’s Come Hell of High Watermelon Wheat, the Ayinger Brau-Weisse, Crispin Cider, Mystere de la Saison, Kona’s Longboard Lager, Mad River’sĀ Serious Madness Black Ale, a Manny’s, and 192 Degree’s Granny’s Apple Ale. (Believe me, the only reason I remember all of these is because the Fremont Oktoberfest’s brew list.)

The best my friends and I could do to document the magic of Oktoberfest. My hand is on the right.

I have no authority to be describing these beers. My beer vocabulary consists of: “Is it hoppy?” (which usually means I won’t be too excited about it. And I understand admitting that likely makes me less sophisticated). But I can tell you that the the Ayinger Brau-Weisse was my favorite, with its “champagne sparkle.”

The nice thing is, of course, even when you don’t like something (Granny’s Apple Ale, I’m sorry, you heartbreaker), you’re only 5 oz from the next one.

But the whole post begs the questions: why don’t we drink out of tiny glasses more often? Does it really have to be only once a year?

This entry was posted in Boozin', Out and About and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny Beers

  1. wineandswine says:

    Apparently the watermelon wheat had a ‘sour finish.’ And apparently I like a sour finish.

  2. Mike says:

    That watermelon wheat is really good; way better than I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

